Here Are Some Essential Information On The Japanese Dog Breeds You Probably Never Knew

japanese dog breeds shiba

The other six are: Akita, Carp, Chinese Crested Dog, English Cocker Spaniel, Irish Wolfhound, Labrador Retriever, and Yorkshire Terrier. The fifteen Japanese dog breeds have distinct physical appearance and behavior. They differ in terms of size (ranging from twenty-five to forty-two inches and three to nine pounds), coat color (white, silver, or gray), markings (red, black, blue, or mottled), and general health. Based on these differences in appearance, it is classified into two major categories – purebreds and hybrids.

Meaning Of Purebred 

a dog

Purebred means that the parents of the animals have passed the breed standard, which determines the characteristics of the Japanese dogs. The fifteen purebreds are: Dog Thai, Pekingese, Pomeranian, Samoyam, Toy Poodle, Bichon Frise, Chow, Akita, Chinese Crested Dog, Akita, and Maltese. Hybrid means that a dog in one of the breeds of the Japanese dog breeds is interchanged with another type of dog. Most of the hybrid dogs resemble their purebred counterparts in terms of their coat color, markings, and general health. Some examples of hybrid Japanese dogs are the Chinese Crested Dog and the Yorkie.

Aforementioned Dog Breeds Are  Categorized According To Their Body Shapes And Structure

A dog that is covered in snow

Each of them possesses a unique head, marked by a pointed muzzle, deep ears, and almond shaped eyes. Their body structure is diverse, each breed has varied temperament and behavior characteristics. They all differ in terms of size, endurance, activity level, intelligence, and socialization ability. In addition, all the dog breeds share similar characteristics such as: high energy, aggression, keen senses, and love for children. Their colors include: black, silver, fawn, ash, platinum, gray, gold, and tan.

One of the most distinguishable dog breeds is the Shiba. These dogs have silky coats that make them look beautiful. Their coats can be long or short and can have variations of colors and patterns from white to red, maroon, black, silver, brown, and tan. Their ears are usually large and their teeth are straight with a slight bend at the back.

The meaning of the word “Shiba” literally means “blood” in Japanese. However, it is also commonly referred to as “snow white” or “little red blood cell.” Most importantly, the shift means loyal and faithful companion that will always be there to protect and serve you unconditionally.

The black shirt is believed to be the ancestors of the present day Japanese standards dog, the tan, also known as the Bichon Frise. Both dogs have the same genetic history and origin but are very different. The Tan has smaller muscular and hairless dogs that are very energetic and protective of its owner. They are extremely affectionate and loyal. On the other hand, the black shirt is sleek and elegant with a longer coat that is brindled into four beautiful shades.

 First Breed Of Dogs In Japan

The black and tan dogs are believed to be the first breed of dogs to exist in Japan. It was the only breed that had been bred for more than two thousand years. This early record of the black and tan also explain why there are so many variations of the Japanese dog today. Because of its close relationship with the samurai, these dogs were often sent to protect the samurai family.

Last Words

The Japanese dog of today is often referred to as the Japanese Bobtail, Bekko, or Beker. The Bobtail is one of the smallest breed of Japanese dog. Their size is one of the reasons that they are so popular among the toy pet market. If you are looking for a small dog with a little personality and love for kids, then the Bobtail is perfect for you. These dogs were introduced to the world during the reign of the Meiji jiro in the late nineteenth century.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter